US, UK, Australia, Canada oppose Beijing's moves on Hong Kong

The governments of the U.S., United Kingdom, Canada and Australia in a joint statement on Thursday condemned China’s move to exert more control over Hong Kong, calling it a threat to the international community’s relations with the territory.

The statement comes in opposition to Beijing moving forward on passing its “national security law,” legislation that would criminalize acts of “secession, subversion and terrorism” against the central government.

But critics...